Tags

, , , , ,

So needless to say I am getting desperate; I  am going  to see my endocrinologist this Thursday, and he told me 4 months ago if i didn’t lose weight, he was going to put me on a shot that is for my insulin resistance. Now mind you I  know I can say no to that, but I also want to get healthy, that is why I’m considering it. As I have been telling you I am doing intermittent fasting. In which I do not eat from dinner the night before until lunch the next day; about 16 hours. My good friend Rebecca Latham, who is an author and an amazing researcher into her own health; this is the kind of lady that takes her health seriously and checks stuff out .She has been doing this feast or fast, in order to bring her insulin resistance down , and control blood sugars and her weight. Shes into 52 days of a 90 day experiment. I’ll attach a link to her blog it’s very interesting.http://lowcarbbetterhealth.blogspot.com/2016/02/day-52-2016-weight-loss-and-blood.html. I got on the phone with her and picked her brain about what she’s doing. So I started it this week. I have to say I messed up at first I ended up fasting for almost 2 whole days! Yes that was a shock to my system;but my blood sugar seemed to really enjoy it, it dropped to an all time low of 84 while fasting!! YOOWOO!!!! So I talked with her again and revamped what I am suppose to be doing and made sure I completely understood. And my stomach is pleased to say it has not had to go with out. I have lost 1 lb, since last week, but more importantly my blood sugars are doing better post meals! So we shall see what this week come!.

I also wanted to share a couple of new recipes I did this week. This first one is my own creation I’ll call it Cabbage and Brats

1 head of cabbage chopped up

1/2 onion chopped

8 brat links chopped into bite size pieces ( I like a lot of meat)

1 1/2 teaspoons coriander

1 teaspoons celery seed

2 teaspoons garlic powder

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 bottle of dark beer

Now take the cabbage and onion place in a large pan add fat, I used bacon grease, but you can use coconut oil. start that cooking, when the cabbage starts to cook down throw in the brats. When they look like they’re almost done. Throw in the spices, mix it well, then add the beer. Cover with a lid and cook for about 20 more minutes until the cabbage is tender and the brats are done. Yummy yummy! This was a hit!

Ok and now for this one, this is not mine it is a Boston Cream Cheesecake, and I must say it was wonderful. Next time I make it though I will make a thinner crust and either use the swerve that she recommends( I used Spenda) or add more Splenda.

Boston Cream Cheesecake

Remember to DECIDE, COMMIT ,SUCCEED

Have a great week! Be kind to yourself, you only have one!

 

